'Typing...' status is always displayed for users if you are allowed to see their Last Seen time. Note that you can't see a user's Last Seen time if you don't share yours.
When you can't see someone's Last Seen & Online time:
'Typing'status is only shown inside your chat with them.
- It is not shown in the Chat list, except for group chats.