Yeah, the option to disable that section is much needed.
The “your contacts on Telegram” could be at least optional to be shown. Most people I know don't have any use out of it. I disabled it under the “Privacy and Security” > “Contacts” > Disable “Sync Contacts” and “Delete Synced Contacts”. This isn't intended to be disabled this way, it's a workaround. It is LESS annoying to “lost” my contacts and sync it every time I want to start a new chat with someone than the default UI/UX behaviour. Hope it can be fixed soon, Telegram is a great app.
Eliminate the "your contacts in telegram" immediately. There are people on my phone contact list that I don't want to interact with outside of calling them. This is an invasion of privacy. I even denied Telegram permissions to access my phone and contacts.
How? There is no option except in security settings, blocking access to all contacts by turning off sync contacts. There is no way to pick and choose contacts with this stupidly created app. The worst part is, those contacts I didn't want in my telegram feed, are contacts I need to keep but am avoiding. Nowv they got a notification about my telegram presence and thus I am very upset. F'n telegram thinks they know what we want. Idiots.
Because of this I'm looking at other similar social media, and not Facebook or Twitter. Google has a new one out. If that works for me I'm going to convince my group to move there, or wherever respects the users.