Yeah, the option to disable that section is much needed.
The “your contacts on Telegram” could be at least optional to be shown. Most people I know don't have any use out of it. I disabled it under the “Privacy and Security” > “Contacts” > Disable “Sync Contacts” and “Delete Synced Contacts”. This isn't intended to be disabled this way, it's a workaround. It is LESS annoying to “lost” my contacts and sync it every time I want to start a new chat with someone than the default UI/UX behaviour. Hope it can be fixed soon, Telegram is a great app.